The West Of Scotland Golf Leagues are competed for by the Scottish Golf Union Area Associations of Ayrshire, Dumbartonshire, Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire and Stirlingshire.

This page brings news on the West Of Scotland Inter County Leagues and Boys Championships.

Monday 27 May 2013


Players are reminded that the closing date for the 2013 West Of Scotland Boys Championship is Monday 24th June.
The championship will be hosted this year by Renfrewshire and will be played at the Eastwood Golf Club on Monday 8th July. Entry is limited to 69 players.
The top 16 players in the Strokeplay Championship will go forward to contest the West Of Scotland Boys Matchplay Championship, again over the Eastwood course, on Tuesday 9th and Wednesday 10th July. 
Entry forms and details of the competition should be available through clubs and are available t download directly from this site, from the appropriate link on the left of this page.
The entry fee is £10. Cheques should be made payable to Renfrewshire Golf Union.
Entries should be returned to :-
The Secretary, Renfrewshire Golf Union, 35 Balmoral Road Elderslie PA5 9RA.

UNDER 18 INTER COUNTY LEAGUE - Winning start for Lanarkshire at Carluke

Lanarkshire got off to a winning start in the 2013 West Of Scotland Under 18 Inter County League on Sunday 26th May with victory over Renfrewshire at Carluke.

A 4 - 0 record in the Under 16 ties gave Lanarkshire a commanding position and despite losing two of the four Under 18 ties and halving another, the home side ran out winners by 5.5 - 2.5.

Match details (Lanarkshire names first):-

Under 16
K McVicar (East Kilbride) beat J Stewart (Old Ranfurly) by 3 & 2
D Fair (Hamilton) beat P Dalrymple (Lochwinnoch) by 1 hole
I Ferguson (Drumpellier) beat A McNaughton (Caldwell) by 4 & 3
A Thomson (Lanark) beat C Toal (Old Ranfurly) by 1 hole

Under 18
C Connacher (Wishaw) halved with S Wilson (Greenock Whinhill)
C Farrell (Wishaw) beat S Ewing (Elderslie) by 3 & 2S Campbell (Cambuslang) lost to S Burns (Caldwell) by 3 & 2
J Walkinshaw (Wishaw) lost to P Dorrian  (Greenock) by 2 & 1

LANARKSHIRE     5.5     RENFREWSHIRE    2.5   

Sunday 26 May 2013

INTER COUNTY UNDER 18 LEAGUE - Stirlingshire open with a win

Stirlingshire opened their bid for the Wishart Trophy and West Of Scotland Under 18 inter county title on Sunday 26th May with a narrow win over their visitors Ayrshire at Falkirk GC,

In a tight match, with four of the eight ties being decided on the final green, the home side found themselves two behind after the opening two ties but turned things around to record a 4.5 - 3.5 win.

Match details (Stirlingshire names first):-

Under 16
David Burt (Falkirk) lost to Murray McCrone (Troon Welbeck) by 5 & 3
Jamie Hunter (Falkirk Tryst) lost to Campbell Mathieson (Troon Welbeck)by 3 & 1
Callum Bauchop (Glenbervie) beat Connor McKay (Loudoun) by 2 holes
Stuart Murray (Falkirk) beat Ross McDonald (Irvine) by 4 & 3

Under 18
Richard Johnston (Glenbervie) beat Callum Gorrie (Kilmarnock Barassie) by 2 holes
Jamie Simpson (Falkirk) beat Shaun Hedger (West Kilbride) by 3 & 1
Peter Maxwell (Glenbervie) halved with Stewart Russell (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Ben Craggs (Glenbervie) lost to Darryl Lynch (Ayr Belleisle) by 1 hole

Tuesday 14 May 2013

UNDER 18 LEAGUE - Honours even in first match of 2013 season

The first match of the 2013 West Of Scotland Under 18 League for the Wishart Trophy took place on Sunday 5th May at Cardross GC, when defending champions Dumbartonshire hosted 2012 runners up Glasgow.
At the conclusion of a close match, honours were even with the final result being a 4 - 4 draw.
Match details (Dumbartonshire names first):-
Under 16's
Cameron Black (Cardross) beat Cameron Fyfe (Cawder) 4/3
Aran Sinclair (Bearsden) lost to (Aiden Hussene) Haggs Castle 4/3
Paul Delaney (Balmore) lost to Ross Glass (Cawder) 4/3
Hamish Mills (Cardross) beat Glen Burrett (Haggs Castle) 1 hole
Under 18's
Sam Fitzsimmons (Windyhill) beat Scott Clark (Haggs Castle) 2/1
Cameron Bennie (Balmore) beat Alan Waugh (Cowglen) 2 holes
Neil McConnachie (Balmore) lost to Ross Finlay (Sandyhills) 2/1
Robert Johnson (Helensburgh) lost to Neil McArthur (Bishopbriggs) 1 hole